Friday, July 4, 2014
Thursday, September 5, 2013
Harassment in the second degree is when a person acts with the “intent to harass, annoy or alarm another person:
1. He or she strikes, shoves, kicks or otherwise subjects such other
Harassment in the first degree is considered a class B misdemeanor.
Criminal mischief and criminal tampering are two classes of property damage crimes in New York.
New York Penal Code 145 separates the property damage offense of criminal mischief into four separate classifications of felony and misdemeanor charges. The determining factors are the cost of the damage and the means of destruction in determining the severity of the charge.
Criminal Mischief in the 4th DegreeCriminal mischief in the 4th degree consists of the following acts of intentionally damaging someone else’s property without permission to do so:
Criminal Mischief in the 3rd DegreeCriminal mischief in the 3rd degree consists of the following acts of intent to damage someone’s property without having the right to do so:
Criminal Mischief in the 2nd DegreeCriminal mischief in the 2nd degree occurs when you act with intent to damage someone else’s property and the damages are valued in excess of $1,500.
Criminal mischief in the 2nd degree is considered a Class D felony, which carries a prison sentence up to 7 years.
Criminal Mischief in the 1st DegreeCriminal mischief in the 1st degree criminal mischief occurs when, acting with intent, you damage someone else’s property using an explosive device.
This is the most serious of all criminal mischief offenses and is considered a Class B felony charge, which carries a prison sentence up to 25 years.
NYC Criminal Defense Attorney
Thursday, July 11, 2013
A speeding fine could cost you over a $1,000 dollars, and you could receive violation points on your driving record ranging from 3 to 11. Keep in mind that in New York your license will be suspended with 11 violations points. Speeds of 65 mph are permitted on the highways and where limits are specially posted. There are no plans in the State of New York to raise the speed limit.
You are required to drive at speeds less than the maximum speed limit in hazardous weather conditions as well. Drivers should drive with the flow of traffic and use the right lanes when possible to help avoid congestion and other aggressive drivers.
The New York State police, sheriff departments and local municipal police departments routinely conduct speed enforcements on a daily basis and identify traffic corridors where speeding contributes to unsafe driving. They may set up check points during holidays looking for drivers who are excessively speeding or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Fines and Penalties
• For speeding up to 10 miles over the limit, you may receive a minimum $90 to maximum $150 fine and not more than 15 days in jail
• For speeding 10 to 30 mph over the limit, you may receive a minimum fine up to $180 and a maximum of $300 and not more than 30 days in jail
• For speeding more than 30 mph over the limit, you may receive a minimum fine of $360 to a maximum of $600 and not more than 30 days in jail
• For an excessive and inappropriate speed, you can receive a minimum fine of $45 to a maximum of $150 and not more than 15 days in jail.
If you have 3 speeding violations or more in an 18 month period, your license will be revoked and fines will increase. Keep in mind that fines are doubled in work zones. You will also receive 3 driver points for driving upon to 10 mph over the limit, 4 driver points for driving between 11-20 mph over the limit, 6 points for driving 21-30 mph over the limit, 8 points for driving 31-40 over the limit and 11 points for driving over 40 mph over the limit.
Friday, May 31, 2013
New York Penal Code Section 230.00 - Prostitution
Under New York Penal Code Section 230.00, a person is guilty of the crime of prostitution when such person “engages or agrees or offers to engage in sexual conduct with another person in return for a fee.” A prostitution crime is considered a class B misdemeanor offense no matter your sexual orientation or gender. You could face up to three months in jail and a fine up to $500 if convicted.
Other Related Prostitution Offenses include:
Patronizing someone in a school zone, which is considered a class A misdemeanor
Patronizing a prostitute in the third degree, which is considered a class A misdemeanor,
when the person being patronized is under 17 years of age
Patronizing a prostitute in second degree, which is a class E felony, when the person being patronized is under 14 years of age
Patronizing a prostitute in the first degree, which is a class D felony, when the person being patronized is under 11 years of age
Hiring a New York Criminal Defense Lawyer to Fight Your Charges
The New York prostitution laws classify are complex. If you are arrested for a prostitution charge, you should hire an experienced New York criminal defense attorney to represent you. A skilled and knowledgeable New York criminal defense attorney can argue such defenses on your behalf as entrapment or invasion of privacy and other defenses depending on the circumstances of the case.
Our firm routinely defends clients charged with prostitution crimes. We have established relationships with prosecutors in the Manhattan and surrounding areas. Our team of lawyers will investigate the charges against you, talk to witnesses and negotiate with the prosecutor to get your charges dismissed or arrange for a plea bargain so you can avoid jail time or other penalties.
Thursday, April 25, 2013
Friday, October 19, 2012
Friday, July 27, 2012
|James Holmes appearance in Arapahoe County Justice Center|